Interview with Amanda Lee, founder of Fashionography

A recent discovery of an awesome blog called Fashionography provided the opportunity to get to know the mastermind behind the e-mask!! Amanda Lee is a blogger with a passion for fashion, an eye for style and a desire to join the designing world. What adds a little more value to this great site is the fact that beauty blogger Kohyla has recently collaborated with Fashionography. You’re perhaps already wondering about the ‘ography part of the name and of course photography is involved, infact these two motivated girls have been joining forces in creating,directing and styling their own photo shoots.

Anyway here’s what else I found out about Amanda Lee

Favourite food:  French Fries!

Quote of the moment: Never leave home without an accessory be it on your hands, wrist, neck or ears.   

Recommended music: 8tracks playlists of 90’s music 

Favourite travel destination: Paris for its fashion and crepes!

Studied at:  Hong Kong Polytechnic University    Course:   Fashion Design in Knitwear

What inspired you to get involved with social media and in particular blogging?

I began blogging roughly 1.5 years ago, as I was making my transition from business school to fashion school. As the two subjects are on completely different ends of the spectrum, the blog began as a way to put all the things that inspired me and struck me as great fashion and photography in one place. The social media aspect of it came later when my blog readership started to grow and became a mainstream channel to connect with other bloggers and to promote my own blog.
What is inspired you to get involved with the fashion industry?

Fashion has always been one of the things that I’ve always loved and after completing my first degree, I decided that I should try something that I’ve been always passionate about – hence am now studying fashion design. I’ve always been surrounded by fashion as well. When I was little, I used to raid my mom’s shoe cabinet and play dress-up….

Is there anything you wish people would understand about the industry?

It is often perceived that the fashion industry is full of glitz and glamour, but this stereotype couldn’t be more incorrect. There are moments when it would be glamourous, but the industry is not as superficial as one would think of it to be. A lot of sleepless nights go into either the merchandising, buying, retailing and designing aspect of the industry. The industry depends heavily on team work and creativity – which essentially makes or breaks a company or a designer.

What do you find most challenging about blogging about your topic?

One of the most challenging things about being a fashion blogger is trying to find a way to stay unique. There are hundreds and thousands of fashion bloggers out there and when I started to blog, I asked myself what I can bring to the table that others can’t, or haven’t yet.

Tell me about some of the people you’ve met while working on your blog?

One of the benefits from blogging is the network that one can create through their blog. I have met so many amazing people through my blog, from other Hong Kong based bloggers, stylists and photographers to those working behind the scenes of a fashion brand and many people in PR. This great network has allowed me to develop my blog even further, and develop a wider social circle.

How would (someone) describe your blogging style?

I do have a rather minimalistic blog where the images I use are the core of my blog. My writing is short and succinct which make it easier for my point to get across.

What do you do when you aren’t working on your blog/website?

I am pretty preoccupied with school at the moment. There’s always a lot to do in research before settling down on a final topic for the go ahead. On the occasion that I do have downtime, I love to go shopping with my mom; and watching movies is a big thing for me. I love looking at the cinematography and fashion in a movie.

How do you keep coming up with material/content for your blog? Many people struggle with coming up with different articles/posts and they only have one blog.

As the name of my blog suggests, I am a huge fan of fashion and photography. When I am not blogging about current trends and collection previews, I am always looking for lesser-known designers and photographers that have I believe have an edge. Fresh designers are always looking for an outlet for their work and it’s important for me as the role of a blogger to help introduce them to the a wider audience.

What has been your strategy for creating visibility to yourself and your blog?

I am very active on Twitter and Facebook, and these two platforms of social media are so important to creating a following of a blog. Connecting with other bloggers and readers from around the world help gets the ball rolling, and through these platforms, I have created a network and a have met a wonderful group of people!

Name some of the bloggers whom you look up to and why?

I am a huge fan of Style Bubble and Bryanboy. They both have such eclectic styles and their take on the fashion world is so unique!
If you had to pick a celebrity wardrobe whose would it be and why?

Oh my goodness. I would have to go with the Kardashians. They are my guilty pleasure, and after seeing Khloe’s shoe closet on Elle, I dream of having her closet one day! All 3 Kardashians have a really good sense of style as well, and their wardrobes come with an unlimited amount of accessories! Rachel Zoe would come as a close second because it seems like she never wears anything twice and its full of Balmain jackets that I would die for!

If you could go back in time what year would you got and why…or you can go into the future?!!

I would definitely go back to the 70’s. There was an amazing sense of colour and prints back in the day with great silhouettes, hair and music especially. I think i was born in the wrong decade!

It’s been a pleasure getting to know more about the driving force behind Fashionography and I think there are some great words for people thinking about starting up their own blog. Definitely one to keep our beady eyes on!

Leave a Reply

