Getting to know Miss B, A Girl A style

I’ve been in communication with Miss B founder of award winning A Girl, A Style blog and  I’m feeling pretty lucky since there is a picture of Miss B under the definition of multi-tasker in the English dictionary, somewhere next to Nick Pickles who won the Prswooz multi-tasking award 2011.

The A Girl, A Style blog is simply fabulous and aspirational. I love the style of writing and all entries are interesting…never a dull moment.There is a really positive and exciting vibe felt in reading the posts here.

Most of the images are taken herself apart from the odd/rare moment where the world of fashion has very much taken over. Earlier this year Miss B caught up with a friend in Paris who introduced her to a great find… Catherine B’s vintage emporium, Les Trois Marches, full of vintage Chanel and Hermes… this was one of those rare moments!! “It may look unassuming from the outside (in true Left Bank style), but I actually gasped when I stepped inside; so good is it that I just had to share it with you all so that you may visit it on your next trip to Paris. Stocking nothing but vintage Chanel and Hermes, this tiny boutique (divided into two neighbouring shopfronts) is almost too good to be true for any Parisian fashion devotee. Within its walls are shelves and shelves of Hermes Kelly bags in every colour imaginable, rows upon rows of Chanel boucle jackets, towering stacks of silk scarves and windows glinting with vintage Chanel jewels (my weakness)” says Miss B.

I shall leave the rest for you to discover on her wonderful blog and now share what else I found out…

Favourite food:  I could quite happily live off summer fruit and macarons alone   

Quote of the moment:  Live the life you dream about                                           

Favourite travel destination: Paris, London, New York, Tokyo, Marrakech, Prague, The Barossa Valley and the Great Barrier Reef (Australia)

Studied at:  Flinders University, Australia                                   

Course:     Bachelor of International Relations, Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of International Business (I didn’t feel satisfied after doing a single degree like everyone else, so I did three instead!)

What inspired you to start blogging?

I had just moved to England from Australia, and was bored in my day job. I was itching for a creative outlet and to share all these wonderful new adventures I was having in my new home, so one rainy day I decided to finally start the blog I’d been pondering as a way to share the things that caught my eye with friends and like-minded individuals everywhere.

Is there anything you wish people would understand about the industry?

It’s not all about swanning about at glamorous parties (they’re overrated, anyway) and stroking shoes at Fashion Week. Whether you make a conscious decision to dress a certain way or not, fashion is an expression of who we are and how we want the world to see us. Not to mention this is a serious business; it’s the second largest industry in the UK (after government) and is one of the few forces that can resist a serious recession.

You are running more than a blog, contributing as Editorial Associate to Liberty London Girl as well as working as a political advisor by day…how are you doing this…wonder woman!!??

It’s true, I have a very intense day job as a Senior Political Advisor (where I divide my time between Cambridge and Westminster). In addition to running A Girl, A Style, I’m also Editorial Associate for Liberty London Girl, UK Editor for The Glitter Guide, and freelance fashion and beauty writer for a number of other websites and print publications. I just try and compartmentalise everything; I want to do the best I can in my day job (it is, after all, my career and my salary) so just focus on that during the day. When I come home, for a few hours every night I’ll try and write something, whether it’s for my blog or a paid commission for a publication, and do a bit of general blog admin. I love my ‘second job’ so much that I’m happy for that to take up my spare time.
What do you do when you aren’t working on your blog/website? 

During the day, I’m always at work (if I’m in the London office I’ll also try and cram in a fashion appointment or two or a date with a girlfriend over macarons at Laduree on my lunchbreak or after work). But when I’m not doing those two things, I try and do as many things that make me smile as possible. Life, to me, is one giant quest for loveliness.

What has helped your success most?

To be honest, I don’t have any big secret. Just hours and hours and hours of work every single week (my blog is a labour of love), being nice to everyone I meet (I might have found success faster if I’d been more brazen, but that’s not my style), and being meticulous about only posting good quality content. I might not post every day, but readers know that I only post about that which I genuinely love.

How do you keep coming up with quality content for your blog?

I usually have the reverse problem; not having enough time to write about everything I want to (I always have a giant backlog of posts and ideas waiting to be written about/photographed). There is always something catching my eye and inspiring me, but just in case, I always carry around a notebook to jot down ideas for future posts just in case I hit a dry spot!

A lot of people are interested in blogging for the money earning potential. What are some tips for people interested in making money from blogging? What are some realistic expectations in regards to what can be made?

Find another career path! I’d like to think that my blog is fairly successful these days in terms of site visitors and reader loyalty. But even now, though I occasionally benefit from a perk or two as a result of my blog (and also do paid writing jobs a few times a month), I definitely invest more time and money into my blog than I get back. Yes, there are ways to make a good living off a blog, but very few people attain that level of success and I think it’s hard to enter into blogging with that ambition as your ultimate goal (readers are a clever bunch, and will always see through such tactics). For me, running A Girl, A Style and writing is my passion; anything I make out of it is a bonus.
What’s your take on sponsored reviews?

Although I’m offered these every day, I’ve never said yes to one yet. In my opinion, it would have to be a very good fit (ie. a collaboration with a brand I already love and blog about now) for it to work without sacrificing the blog’s integrity (something I’m very protective about). My blog readers keep coming back because it’s my voice and opinion they like and trust; if I’m giving that up by doing sponsored posts on something I would’t write about ordinarily, then what’s the point?

Name some of the bloggers whom you look up to and why?

Sasha Wilkins of Liberty London Girl for showing us that blogs don’t have to conform to a single, narrow topic (‘fashion’, ‘beauty’, etc.), Nicolette Mason for showing you don’t have to be a blond supermodel clone to have the most beautiful blog and personal style, and Alix of the Cherry Blossom Girl to show it’s better to create your blog’s identity through one gorgeous post a week than 7 mediocre posts.

What are your favourite trends at the moment?

I never consciously follow trends, but the dominant themes coming through next Spring/Summer really play to my hyper-girly tastes. I love all the sugary pastels, the florals and lace, the 20s Great Gatsby references, and the whimsical under-the-sea vibe (done best at Chanel and Charlotte Olympia).

It’s been another great pleasure to get to now another great creator, thanks for your time and I hope to be able to follow up later in the year.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Getting to know Miss B, A Girl A style

  1. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

Leave a Reply

