Lara Ostertag, recent work

Creative Director Lara Ostertag is a favourite of mine and I plan to closely follow this one. This outstandingly talented young lady not only offers innovative skills and ideas she has an amazing spirit that rubs off.

When I look back on my first encounter with Lara Ostertag she was creating flyers for night clubs and using other photographers work. I recall several conversations where I could sense her bursting at the seams to do more, she enjoyed the work but it was just a stepping stone for her. ‘ Using other photographers work isn’t enough for me, I want more control over images, I’ve got concepts and I have photographers interested in working with me. I want to create my own art inspired fashion photography’.

Lara Ostertag has been very busy and a recent shoot that really caught my eye was her Twisted Heritage project. An interesting fact for you…. When you need some fog grab the talcon powder as Lara proves there’s nought better for creating that mysterious foggy theme.

When Lara and designer Laura Baker collaborated this was always a recipe for something special. Yorkshires Falconry Centre made a perfect location for setting the theme and being able to have a bird of prey star in the shoot made it even more spectacular.

Did you know it’s (Tweed) name came about by a simple communication error, back in 1830 a London merchant received a letter from a Hawick firm about some Tweels he misinterpreted the handwriting, understanding it to be a trade-name taken from the river Tweed that flows through the Scottish Borders textile area, easy mistake but a mistake that made its mark in history.

Lara has recently collborated with a team who are involved with creatng a series of new  Oxfam fashion adverts, this is a perfect opportunity for her as she shares their strong values and beliefs. ‘By coming up with a series of subtle but clever fashion advertising campaigns, I’m able to create awareness for global issues to promote the vintage fashion brand that Oxfam provides. I’m personally very excited about this project so keep an eye out over the next 6 months’.

Another shoot that caught my attention was her United Blingdon T-shirt  shoot this was my favourite image…

This is all for the moment on this great artist, people watch the Ostertag space there’s much more to come. I look forward to updating you soon with more on Lara Ostertag. In the mean time yu can stay up to date by following her on Twitter.

Photographer Simon Paterson works with Lara and all pictures are copyrighted, if anyone would like to use images please contact Lara or Simon and I’m sure they would be happy to help out.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Lara Ostertag, recent work

  1. Chadders says:

    Nice article, love Laras work one to watch! Chads x

  2. Vanesa says:

    Love the way you build up the argument xx

    Vanesa
    The-Bel (Fashion Blog, Online Shop, Street Style)

  3. […] amazing and very desirable. Claire a.k.a Poshfruit has brought an image from Lara’s Twisted Heritage shoot to life in a whole new way, I’m blown away by the […]

Leave a Reply

