Interview with Rhonda Richards, Leeds Fashion Show

Rhonda Richards has enjoyed her PR role with Leeds Fashion Show for the past 6 years and is even more excited about this years ‘dress me beautiful’ event.

“The aim of this event is to attract attention to the creative talent we have in the North of England, we feel these talents should be recognised, the ultimate aim would be to create Leeds Fashion Week.”

I got to ask her a few questions and here’s what she has to say:

1. How did you get into your PR role within LFS?
My role within Leeds Fashion Show stemmed from my qualifications and experience, I have a degree in Public Relations so I fell straight into it.

2. What do you think is the biggest pre-conception people have about the fashion industry?
I think a lot of people think that you have to look or act a certain way to be a part of fashion in general, but really, individuality is what makes fashion.

3. What were your first job experiences?
Whilst studying I worked in the retail industry and often went on buying trips with my manager and very often dressed the shop windows.
I have always had an interest in fashion but I did not really know what route I wanted to take as the industry is very vast.
Other than working in retail, LFS has been my main job related to direct ‘fashion’. Over the years, I have networked at various events and met lots of key people that have helped me within my PR role.

4. How would you describe your role?

My role basically consists of gaining maximum media coverage for Leeds Fashion Show and liaising with the models.

5. What has helped you most in your career?
Networking has helped me the most in my area of work. I think it’s important to create and maintain relationships with key people.

6. What is Leeds Fashion Show?
Leeds Fashion Show is a creative not for profit organisation supporting young people to bridge the gap between education and the fashion industry.
Our aim is to provide young people, with a realistic insight into what it means to work in fashion. From hands on workshops and industry days to high profile catwalk events, learning important practical skills while also developing the confidence and experience they need to succeed in the future.

7. What can be expected?
Dress Me Beautiful is an annual event that is held by Leeds Fashion Show to showcase a collaboration of up & coming and established designers. The event will be held at Leeds City Museum and will support the Cash For Kids Charity through raffle and auction prizes.
This year we will be holding various competitions for the models and designers to give them all something to work towards. The flyer for the show will be released later on this month.

8. What trends do you think are expecting to dominate this year?
I think the colour blocking trend will be carried through to autumn/winter. I think a lot of people are bored of dark gloomy colours and this trend will help to bring them out of their comfort zones. I personally like black clothing and will be mostly sticking to this with maybe just a hint of colour.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

